Graceful Words of Wisdom

If you’ve been reading my blog for any length of time, you’ll know that my wife and I are doing a church plant.  As a part of this process (as in getting ready) I’ve been talking with other pastors and church planters.

It’s really been amazing to hear all the words of wisdom coming from firsthand experience.  I just found out that the pastor at my last church has done 3 church plants in the past.  I had no idea!  And as it turns out, all three churches are still around and thriving today.  Now that’s impressive!  I already had loads of respect for Mark (the pastor), but man, this just adds to it.

I’ve heard great things that range from basic and common advice to very personal advice on how to keep the marriage strong and not destroy our family (yep, it happens a lot).  I’m really looking forward to having a sit down with Mark.  It’s been a while since we’ve talked.  I loved being at their church, great people, great teaching, and God was always glorified!  It’s a great privilege to serve near them.

So what can you take away from this?  Be humble enough to take advice from people who have already been through what you are entering.  Don’t think you have it figured out, there’s always something that we all miss.  It’s okay to learn from other’s mistakes, there’s no point in going through the pain if you don’t have too.  And remember, keep Christ the center, teach the Word, and serve the people.

Leave a Reply

