Hakuna Matata

It means no worries, for the rest of your days.  It’s our problem free, philosophy, hakuna matata.  This is a real Swahili phrase that does translate to “no worries.”  So what brings this up?

I’ll be honest, I did one of those Facebook quiz’s that say’s who you are based on whatever category…this one was which Disney sidekick are you.  You guessed it, I got Timon and Pumbaa.  Why does this matter?  Well I find it interesting.  Several years ago Shannon and I applied to be missionaries in Tanzania, Africa.  I don’t want to go into too much detail, but suffice to say that I had a miraculous experience and “heard” someone say something to me (in Swahili) while no one was around.  The voice came right after having some serious physical and spiritual warfare, not being able to physically talk (seriously, I was texting Shannon like I was a teenager while she was right next to me because I physically couldn’t get the words out of my mouth), and being miraculously healed, and praying that I believed that Tanzania was where we should be.

I heard “ninakubali,” which translates into English as “I agree.”  I had never heard this, nor practically anything in Swahili at that point.  I called a good friend of mine who had spent 15+ years in Tanzania to see if it meant anything to him.  (He’s also the person who I was talking specifically with about the mission, so it really wasn’t weird that I called about this).  After telling him, he asked where I heard it.  That was an awkward conversation.  How do you tell someone that you believe that you heard from God in another human language that you don’t know.

Anyway, he informed me of it’s meaning and we were both rather taken aback by the situation.  In the long run, Shannon and I didn’t get the mission, but I still feel very drawn to Tanzania, and I firmly believe that we’ll be doing ministry there at some point.

Hakuna Matata, or no worries, is also very apparent in my life.  I find myself saying “no worries” to people a lot.  It really embodies how I view struggles in my life.  God’s in control, I’m His, so why worry about it.  Don’t get me wrong, I do worry more than I would like, but I really try to let the small stuff wash off my back like a good duck.

If this was a little pentecostal for you, sorry, but I do believe that the gifts of the Spirit are still alive and thriving today.  While I don’t speak in tongues, I’ve experience enough in my life to not question it.  And this is really something that happened to me, and Shannon and my friend can back this up.  God works and communicates in some crazy ways (at least how we see it).  Don’t be discouraged if how God is speaking to you isn’t how others seem as right.  I’m sure most people didn’t think that God speaking through a burning bush was right when Moses talked about it.  And we know that people didn’t think that Jesus was the way that the Messiah was supposed to be.  God’s doesn’t exist in the box people try to put Him in.  Confirm things with the scriptures.  Use discernment and prayer, but don’t try to limit God.

Leave a Reply

