Should I Pray for Favor?

I’m seeing this a lot recently.  People saying that they are praying for either their own or another’s “favor.”  I tend to be a bit of a cynical chap, and this is one of those things that I don’t quite get, and I find myself fighting the urge to say something.

Does God want us to be successful?  Yes, I believe He does.  Does God want what’s best for us?  Absolutely, but that might not be what we think is best for us.  Does God want to hear us ask and have us speak with Him?  No doubt.  So why am I feeling cynical about this?

I’m cynical about this because most prayers for self favor are due partly to greed and idolatry.  Idolatry as in worshiping one’s self and asking God to worship them.  There, you see the cynical side.  But I do have a reason for this, be it right or wrong, I have a reason.  We are told to be satisfied, or content, with what we have (Hebrews 13:5 & Philippians 4:11).  This is because we have already been given the world and then some.  As Christians, we are there to inherit God’s kingdom!  Christ has given us forgiveness, and unrightly so.  He has given us direct access to the God of the Universe, the creator of all things.  He has given us salvation.  We now get to spend eternity with the Creator, the King of kings, Lord of lords, the Word.  He has even given us His Spirit to guide us through our lives here.  On top of that, “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing?  Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they?” – Matthew 6:25-26.

In my opinion, which is just that, an opinion; prayer for God’s favor for a Christian is redundant and unnecessary.  When a Christian turns back to God, the Father runs to him and hugs him.  He then has a servant get him a ring for his finger, a fine cloak, shoes for his feet, and a feast for his return. – Luke 15:11-24.  Being a Christian means that you are in God’s favor.y

This being said, I love seeing people wanting the best for others.  And that is, what I believe, they are trying to show.  It is great to see others loving their neighbors.  I need to be less cynical, I know this and I’m working on it.  This is just one of those things that reminds me of human nature, the desire of self will instead of God’s will.  We must strive for God’s nature, not our own.  That includes being less cynical, and more loving.  Instead of praying for another believer’s favor pray for their needs, for God’s favor is already theirs.

Leave a Reply

