Joy at the Youth Ranch

We all have some “stupid” things that we enjoy.  For some it’s window shopping while hanging out with friends.  For others it’s watching sports while complaining that the athlete did something that didn’t work but was immeasurably better than they personally could do.  For me, I like going down to the Youth Ranch.

Yep, I’m a spender.  My wife hates it, mainly because she is a seriously frugal person.  Don’t get me wrong, I like to save money in our savings account.  But this is a capitalistic society; and if we want others to be blessed and successful, we need to spend money.  Money is something we don’t have a lot of, so I bargain shop down at the Youth Ranch.  Which is great, I get cool (and yes, useful) stuff and the money goes out to help people in need.  Win win.

As a pastor I read…a lot.  It’s crazy how much.  Let me tell you, when God puts this ministry on you, you get an uncontrollable urge to learn as much as you can.  Maybe it’s the fear of standing before the Lord one day and being held accountable for what you taught the people under you…I don’t know.  One of the main things I look for while I’m bargain shopping is books.  But not just any books, Christian education books.  Don’t get me wrong, if werewolves and vampires are your thing, those books are there too.

But I’m on a mission….a mission from God, and I can see the light (for you John Belushi and Dan Aykroyd fans).  So I look for Christian education books.  It’s interesting, because the inventory rotates based on donations.  Which means sometimes you find nothing and other times you walk out with a basket full and spend like $5.  We were in there just a few days ago and had one of those latter experiences.  Found some cool books on Creation Science, Christian care giving, Christian artists, and my favorite “Taking the Drudgery Out of Sermon Preparation” by Webb B. Garrison.  It was one of those books that I just had to pickup simply because of the name.  Granted, I’m working on sermon prep stuff anyway, so any help is appreciated.  So be on the lookout for my review of this particular book in the coming future.

What’s the point of all this you ask?  Great question, and one I have no answer to.  I just thought I would share some randomness from the life of Drew with you.  And maybe give some people the good idea to donate and purchase at your local Youth Ranch.

Leave a Reply

