Mere Christianity

It’s been a while since I’ve posted, but I think I’ll be starting this back up again.  For those of you who like reading what I poorly write, congratulations and you are surely welcome!  For those of you who don’t care for my opinions…sorry, but I still have them.

Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis…how many reviews and thoughts are there out on the Google machine on this one.  Almost as many as there are stars in the sky at night out side the city.  With that info in tow, it’s safe to assume that I probably won’t be breaking any serious theological barrier here with this one, but I’ll put my two cents out there anyway.

Is it good?  Yes.  In fact, I would say it’s in my top 10 and on my must read list.  Will you agree with everything said? Probably not.  But that should be no surprise as you probably won’t agree with everything in any Christian literature unless you write it – and even then you probably won’t that in about a year either.  My top grievance (it’s close to Christmas so I’m feeling the Festivus spirit right now) is his use of evolutionary ideas.  To me, that’s a really minor thing; but I know several people that I might not refer this book to because they do not share the  same leniency towards that viewpoint.

While it does take him a while to get past the morality concept, and he never really does go away from it, in the end it makes sense.  He’s didn’t write this book as a theological paper intended to tickle the minds of biblical scholars across the globe for years and years (although I think it has done that).  He wrote this book (it appears simply from reading it) for the non-Christian and the baby – adolescent Christian.  So it’s intriguing that the people who like it the most are the people it wasn’t even intended for.  If you like reading blogs, you’ll like how it’s setup.  It’s 4 really short books with several really short chapters per book in one binding.  It’s like reading a paperback blog compilation, especially when touches on some concerns people have had with his work in previous chapters.

Reading Mere Christianity is like being able to look at things as a child again while looking through a crystal ball (or paperback, whichever method you use).  You get to keep your current theological understandings and step back in time to see how God has worked through your life.  It’s pretty cool.

In the short, you can read better reviews.  This is really more my reaction to reading the book rather than a real review of it.  I believe that if you read a Christian (educational) book and can’t really review it because it’s hard to put into words what God has done to you through the writing itself; then it’s a success.  Well played sir, well played.

Leave a Reply

