I am a Slave

I am a slave
I am a slave not because of poverty
Nor the lack of will for freedom
I am not a slave for personal gain
Nor for the desire to grow

I am a slave
My master is kind
Yet destroys what’s against him
His love compares to no other
And his grace is overbearing

I am a slave
I am a slave on my own accord
My master called me and I willingly gave myself to him
His cause is greater than mine
His will is greater than mine
His understanding is greater than mine
His plan is greater than mine
His pain is greater than mine

I am a slave
And I am freer than those that claim freedom
I know that my bondage grants more freedom that one can get on their own
In ancient terms, I am a bondservant
Giving myself to another willingly and totally
With no thought to self or security

I am a slave
And my master is Christ

Leave a Reply

