Letting Go

Today seemed like it was going to be a great prayer day.  Some friends were holding a play date for the kids to celebrate Gabbie’s 5th birthday.  I had a few hours of what was going to be personal, intimate prayer time devoted to Shannon’s (my wife’s) work issues.  Then I woke up this morning.

There were multiple emails from a client with a bit of a laundry list of things that needed attention.  My few hours just vanished.  While I’m out working on network issues, a dead computer, and a defunct touchpad, Shannon texts asking what I’m hearing.  It was odd.  Not the fact that she was asking, but I just got the sensation that she had heard something.  I did what any man would do…I put the cell phone back in my pocket and hurried to finish my work.

Needless to say, I went straight from work to pick up the kids…and I was almost an hour late.  On the way I decided to pray while I was driving.  I started hearing from God in such a way that I literally pulled over to make sure that I could devote my attention to the Spirit.  The instructions were clear, not the normal vague timelines that I usually hear with somewhat criptic instructions.  Quite simply, He said that something bad was coming if she didn’t leave the company…and to leave today.  I wrestled with that for a moment (since she is the primary provider for our family…not to mention a cancer survivor that insurance would cost a little over $800 a month for) and prayed about the normal 2 week notice.  Apparently that was alright.

I texted Shannon to let her know, honestly expecting her to jump for joy and dance on her bosses desk.  Nope.  It scared the daylights out of her.  We’ve been looking for work for her for a few weeks, and nothing.  But she had heard something this morning.  It was an odd feeling that she had been told something but couldn’t quite pinpoint when.  That feeling confirmed what I had heard and vise versa.

We are following God on this one.  We simply cannot afford for her to not work and make at least what she is making now.  There’s no job lined up, not for her and not for me.  This is a pure leap of faith.  Please take some time and pray for us and our family and everyone else out there going against common sense and following God’s call.

It’s not easy and we don’t know what’s coming.  What we do know is that God is in control, and that He will take care of us, even more so than the birds of the air (Matthew 6: 25-34).

I think it’s important for all of us to be willing to swallow our fear and do what God asks.  It’s not always easy, and often times it goes against everything we learned growing up.  Most people will think you’re nuts, even devout Christians.  But the question is: are you doing this for Christ, or are you doing it to look good.

Leave a Reply

