Christian Bubbles

I think that most people have at least heard the concept of the “Christian Bubble.”  Thanks for making that a wide spread term Dan Kimball.  Ah the Christian bubble, with its comforts and amenities.  Yet there are so many issues with it.  How can you still be in the world if you separate yourself from it?

I think it’s fair to say that most of us have at least a basic idea about the Christian bubble.  But just like the Christian faith there are really a lot of Christian “Bubbles” out there.  Inside the tent of Christianity (or Christian bubble if I may) there’s also the Catholic bubble, Methodist bubble, Baptist bubble, Southern Baptist bubble, Calvary Chapel bubble, Nazarene bubble, Arminian bubble, Calvin bubble, Luther bubble, the Rob Bell Lover’s bubble, the Rob Bell hater’s bubble, Mark Driscoll Lover’s/Hater’s bubbles, and so on ad nauseum.

All of these groups call themselves Christians.  And probably rightly so (probably due to the fact that there is no way that I personally can know everyone under these groups and know that they have truly accepted Christ).  They believe that the Bible is the inspired word of God.  That Jesus was the Messiah, the Christ.  That He is the son of God, born to a virgin, lived a sinless life, died for our sins on the cross, on the third day rose again and is now at the right hand of God awaiting His triumphant return.  AKA a Christian.  Pretty much, if you believe this (truly believe this with your heart) and have accepted the gift of grace that God has offered through this, you are a Christian.

The rest of the philosophical and theological debates are moot, as far as salvation is concerned.  It’s interesting to talk about some of the different theology out there, but that’s all it should be…talk.  Not the “I’m right, you’re wrong and let me show you why.”  That’s not talk, it annoying at best.

I’m currently in the middle of a business merger with another local computer company.  It’s a great deal for both sides of the debate, and we both agree on that.  I’ve been working hand-in-hand with the owner of the other company for a while now, and I find it interesting how much we agree on Christianity and the pointless debates of second hand theology.

Now it’s really not all that uncommon to find people that agree with you on a topic if you talk to people who are in that circle already.  However, we’re not in the same circle, or bubble.  We are both Christians, and we both think that’s the only bubble that matters.  But he’s a Catholic and I’m a postmodern Missional Protestant (non-denominational…for the most part).

So he’s from the oldest Christian church, and I’m from…well…one of the newest.  But we both agree that Jesus is the focal point, and it should stay that way.  My friend Dr. Jon Ruthven is currently working on a book that I can’t wait for.  From what I understand, it’s a theologians perspective on why we need to get away from the second hand theology and put the full focus back on Jesus Christ (sorry Jon if I’m missing it here, let me know if I am; I obviously haven’t read it yet).

So I know that I’m not the only one thinking this thought, but maybe there just needs to be another ripple added to the pond.

So what’s the point to all of this?  Keep your sight on Jesus.  Don’t buy into the extra theology.  It’s interesting and sometimes even fun to talk about it.  But quite frankly, no one knows which theology is right; that’s why there are so many.  But all Christians agree about Jesus.

Leave a Reply

