Crazy Addiction

So I stopped drinking pop about a week and a half ago.  I was addicted to the stuff.  There were days where I would think I had only had 2 cans and while taking them to the recycling bin would realize that I really had more like 5.  Pretty much any brown cola was my weakness, name brand or store brand knockoff, didn’t matter.

Today is the first day that I’m really feeling the craving to hear that delightful crack and fizz, feel that first ice cold drink slither down my throat, and enjoy that sugar coma goodness.  I’ve had juice, water, milk, chocolate milk, tea, iced tea and so on, but nothing seems to fill the void that soda filled for me.  I think if Jesus’ first coming was now, I would have been one of the people that would have asked to be His disciple and He would have told me “where I go, no soda can follow.”

Oh the heartbreak.  I’m not a drunk.  I don’t have a father to bury.  And if you know me at all you know I don’t have money, so that’s not holding me back.  Soda is, or was.  At about $5 a 12 pack, and drinking on average 4 a day, that’s $11.67 a week that’s going to pop.  And that’s only if I don’t get one while I’m out.  If you think about it, that’s over $600 per year going straight towards my crazy addiction.  $50 a month.  Wow, that’s a cell phone bill, or a good donation to the shelter.  What could I do to help my community with $50 a month?

Off topic slightly; I remember having a conversation with a theologian, I can say that, he’s published in several books including the systematic theology book on my shelf.  I told him about an off the cuff remark my 2 year old, at the time, had said.  She said “Jesus is sad.”

“Why?” I asked

“He wanted pancakes!”

Oh out of the mouth of my child.  He told me that Jesus wouldn’t want pancakes…He wouldn’t eat processed food like that.

So what’s your crazy addiction?  What’s the thing that Jesus would tell you “where I go, no _________ can follow?”  And what are you going to do about it?

Leave a Reply

